top of page
Search
  • www.rg250.co.uk

Awoken From Slumber...

Had a few days off work to go away, however, today was a spare day and the Sun was shining.....time to wake the Gamma from its winter hibernation.

I knew that getting it started was not going to be a simple affair, as I had failed with a few attempts over the winter...I'd figured there was some debris in the carbs causing my problems, and had decided to get the tank off , clean the carbs (again) and fit an inline fuel filter in addition to the one in the tank....ahhhhh, the one in the tank....I had purchased a good used tank to have repainted, and the gauze filter from inside that, was a common sight around the garage and never concerned me, until I spotted igt in two places!!.... It seems I'd forgot to fit one when fitting the tank!!

Back to todays work, fairing and tank off, carbs removed and with float bowls taken off, the level of crap inside was bewildering....cleaned up and blown out with compressed air, they were refitted in no time. Again I rigged up a fuel/oil supply and she started second kick and settled into an even idle!! Music!!!

Hopefully now all fuelling issues are resolved, and they'll pose no future setbacks. I have to repaint the front calipers, and fit new hoses I recently found on Ebay, replace the fork brace with a NOS one and get the Air Suspension decal to the left Fork Leg. The remaining painted panels should only be a couple of weeks from completion now, and I'd love to have this list of jibs done before they arrive....Happy days!!


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Jetting

Hey all, Have any of you dealt with larger jets? Any recommendations? Im nearly done freshening up my old 85FG and was thinking of replacing out the air box for some pods(don't judge me!) Has anyone h

TERRIBLE MPG on my stock RG250...

After a 2-year restoration of my RG250 Walter Wolf (mine was pretty "rough"), I now have something like 1,000 miles on her and one thing is that mine is showing is TERRIBLE gas mileage. As a collector

bottom of page